Practicing the 8 Limbs of Yoga Will Assist You With Understanding Yoga As The Stars Have Aligned Just Right

Yoga has become more and more popular over the years, with many people embracing its benefits like increased physical fitness and mindfulness. However, many people don't know how to practice yoga in the right way. In this article, you'll learn about the eight limbs of yoga that were established by Patanjali over 2,000 years ago.

Introducing the 8 limbs of yoga

In today’s society, the practice of yoga has become quite popular. You can find yoga classes at almost any gym or community center. However, many people who practice yoga don’t actually know what yoga is. 

Yoga is an ancient Indian discipline that is designed to promote physical and mental well-being. The practice of yoga involves eight “limbs” which are meant to be followed in order to achieve complete wellness. 

The first limb is called yama and it encompasses the practices of non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, and sexual restraint. The second limb is niyama and it includes the practices of cleanliness, contentment, self-discipline, and study. 

The third and fourth limbs are asana (physical postures) and pranayama (breath control). These two limbs are designed to improve your physical health and well-being. 

The fifth limb is called pratyahara and it is the practice of withdrawing your senses from external stimuli. This helps you to focus on your internal experience. 

The sixth limb is dharana and it is the practice of concentration. This helps you to

The best technique to practice the 8 extremities of yoga

The 8 limbs of yoga are actually guidelines on how to live your life. 

They are:

1. Yama: social ethics 

2. Niyama: personal observances 

3. Asana: physical postures 

4. Pranayama: breath control 

5. Pratyahara: sense withdrawal 

6. Dharana: concentration 

7. Dhyana: meditation 

8. Samadhi: absorption in the object of meditation

Each of these limbs has sub-categories that go into more detail about what is expected of you as a yogi, or someone who practices yoga. However, the main idea is that by following these 8 limbs, you will be able to live a more meaningful and fulfilling life.

The first limb, yama, is all about social ethics and how you interact with the world around you. This includes things like honesty, non-violence, and sexual restraint. Basically, it’s about living your life in a way that is respectful to others and doesn’t cause them harm.

The second limb, niyama, is focused on personal observances and how you take care of yourself.

Benefits of practicing the 8 limbs of yoga

Yoga is an ancient practice that has many benefits for both the mind and body. One of the things that makes yoga so special is that it is not just an exercise regimen, but a complete system for well-being. The eight limbs of yoga are a set of guidelines that provide a framework for living a healthy and meaningful life.

The first two limbs, the yamas and niyamas, are concerned with our personal conduct. The yamas are universal ethical principles that includes non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, and chastity. The niyamas are personal observances that include cleanliness, contentment, self-discipline, and study of the scriptures. Together, these two sets of principles help us to live in harmony with others and create the foundation for a healthy lifestyle.

The next two limbs, pranayama and asana, focus on our breath and posture respectively. Pranayama is the control of breath through various breathing techniques. Asana is the practice of physical postures which helps to keep the body healthy and strong.

The last four limbs, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, and samadhi, deal

There are many benefits to practicing the 8 limbs of yoga. The first benefit is that it helps you to understand yoga as it was meant to be. Yoga is not just about the physical poses, but it is also about the mental and spiritual aspects as well. 

The second benefit is that it can help to improve your overall health and well-being. The eight limbs of yoga can help to improve your flexibility, strength, and endurance. They can also help to improve your breathing and circulation.

The third benefit is that it can help to reduce stress and anxiety levels. When you practice the eight limbs of yoga, you are focusing on your breath and on the present moment. This can assist with clearing your psyche and decrease feelings of anxiety.

The fourth benefit is that it can help to improve your sleep quality. When you practice yoga, you are relaxing your body and mind. This can lead to improved sleep quality and less restlessness at night.

The fifth benefit is that it can help to increase your energy levels. Yoga helps to increase blood flow and oxygenation to the cells in your body. This can lead to increased energy levels and improved stamina.


If you want to understand yoga as it was meant to be, practicing the limbs of yoga is a great way to start. The eight limbs of yoga are designed to help you live a more meaningful and purposeful life, and by practicing them you will develop greater self-awareness, discipline, and focus. While it may take some time to master all eight limbs, even just practicing one or two can have a positive impact on your life. So why not give it a try?  You may be shocked at what you find about yourself.